Meet the Principal

Welcome to our wonderful school.

At Guildford Grammar School, we believe in you.

As Principal, I am motivated by our wonderful students every day. Our students are inspired to approach all aspects of life with imagination, integrity, compassion and optimism. Our young people have valuable contributions to make, now and into the future and this can be experienced across our broad and diverse spectrum of school life from academic excellence, co-curricular pursuits, sporting achievements to their innovation, curiosity and growth. 

At Guildford Grammar School, your child is empowered by choice, nurtured in a stimulating environment and awarded extraordinary opportunities. Your child can choose their own pathway, personalise their learning and define what success looks like.

With a proud heritage, outstanding co-education and deep commitment to living our purpose and values, Guildford Grammar School stands apart. Our purpose of inspiring outstanding citizens who work to create a just, loving and peaceful society guides everything we do, every single day.

Our team of educators strive to support each child to discover the joy of learning and to develop essential skills and capabilities that will enable them to not only survive, but to thrive during their time at school and beyond.

As a learning community, we are revolutionising our approach and practices to engage and empower our students to embrace their education as a lifelong pursuit, not just a means to an end. We work with our students and their families to build a deeper understanding of themselves and the world around them, preparing our graduates with agency, agility and the capacity to rise to life’s opportunities and challenges whilst pursuing personal excellence.

I invite you to experience our warm and inclusive community and to find out more about the extraordinary opportunities available at Guildford Grammar School by registering for an upcoming School Tour. We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Mrs Anne Dunstan
Principal, Guildford Grammar School

Strategic Leadership Team

The Strategic Leadership Team is responsible for the management of the School in all key operational areas.

Mr Brad Evans

Acting Principal

BCom, GradDipEd, MBA (EdLship)

Mr Bruce Derby

Deputy Principal, Learning Leadership and Transformation (K-12)

BA, MA Ed, GradDipEd

Mrs Julia McGibbon-Briggs

Deputy Principal, Wellbeing and Student Experience (K-12)


Dr Holly Miller

Head of Preparatory School

BEd, MEd, EdD

Mrs Kristy Teo

Director of Human Resources, Corporate and Retail Services

BPsych, MBus

Mr Graham Foster

Director of Information and Learning Technology

BBus, Accounting and Finance, GradDipEd, Dip IT

Mr Graham Lawson

Head of Middle Years

BPHE, DipEd, GradDip, HRM

Mr Richie Longson

Director of Community Relations

Mr Matt Weston

Director of Boarding

BA, GradDipEd, MA Ed

Mr Vernon Thompson

Director of Finance


School Council

The role of Council

The School Council’s role is to govern the School, while the function of the Principal and Senior Management is to manage the organisation in accordance with the policies and directions of the School Council. The School Council and the Principal work in partnership to achieve the Purpose of the School.

Fellows of Council

Shelley Robertson

Acting Chair of Council, Finance and Audit Committee

BSc, FCA, GradDip (Petroleum Eng), MBA (Oil & Gas), GAICD

Experience: Executive General Manager Energy – Mineral Resources, extensive experience in oil and gas, mining, infrastructure and renewable energy, Advisory Board Member Women Leaders’ Institute and Chair MRL Diversity and Inclusion Steering Committee.

Areas of speciality: Compliance risk, legal and human resources

Michael Hillgrove

Fellow of Council, Treasurer, Chair of Finance and Audit Committee


Experience: Chartered accountant, Audit and Assurance Partner at Hall Chadwick, past Guildford Grammar School parent.

Areas of speciality: Accounting, auditing, finance

Monique Brown

Fellow of Council

BApSci, GradDipEd

Experience: Teacher; farmer; Chair of Hyden Community Resource Centre; Hyden Primary School Board Member; past Guildford Grammar School parent.

Areas of speciality: Education, boarding, communication, wellbeing

Sean Johnstone

Fellow of Council, Finance and Audit Committee, Chair of Boarding Redevelopment Committee

BBus (Economics and Financial Management), M.L.M, AAICD

Experience: Director of Oxygen Corporate, BullAnt Security, Swivelpole; past board member of Guildford Grammar School Foundation; past Guildford Grammar School Parent.

Areas of speciality: Strategy, business performance, project management, finance and risk

Danielle Norrish

Fellow of Council, (Parents & Friends’ Society Nominee 2018/2021)

GAICD, MFIA, IAP2 Certified, Member of Australian Institute of Company Directors, Member of Fundraising Institute of Australia.

Experience: Executive Manager of Development and Marketing at Ronald McDonald House Charities WA. Non-Executive Director of Patricia Giles Centre for Non-Violence, Previously Executive Director of Black Swan State Theatre Company, WA State Manager of Advertising Council of Australia; past P & F President and FOPS Secretary; current Guildford Grammar School parent.

Areas of speciality: Marketing, brand strategy, philanthropy, partnerships, event management and not-for-profit governance and business management

Dr Bill Ryan

Fellow of Council


Experience: Chair of The Guild Grammar Foundation Inc., Chair of Agricultural Product Commission, Director of Agrifuture Australia and Director of Mt Burdett Foundation Pty Ltd.

Areas of speciality: Business Strategy, finance, risk and governance

Rachael Cottier

Fellow of Council, Finance and Audit Committee


Experience: Chief Financial Officer Azure Capital, Director and Chair of Audit and Risk Committee of Therapy Focus Limited.

Areas of speciality: Financial management, audit, secretarial compliance risk, legal and human resources

The Right Reverend Jeremy James tssf

Fellow of Council

BA, MA, MLitt

Experience: Assistant Bishop, Parish Priest, Area Dean, Canon of St George’s Cathedral

Areas of speciality: Leadership, team building and coaching, social and moral perspective

Matthew Maughan

Fellow of Council


Experience: General Manager – Finance at Compass Group; Old Guildfordian and Guildford Grammar School parent.

Areas of speciality: Finance, compliance and risk management, law